skip to Main Content

Nominations are open until March 18, 2019.

The Mallory Gilbert Leadership Award annually celebrates and recognizes an individual who has demonstrated outstanding administrative or managerial leadership within the Canadian theatre community. The award also includes a protégé, chosen by the Award winner, underlining the importance of skills and knowledge transmission in leadership building.

Winners are chosen based on the following criteria:

  • Displaying consistent, significant and valuable administrative leadership
  • Being respected by peers for leading, growing, or changing an organization or initiative
  • Being recognized for positive contributions to the development of Canadian theatre, such as community involvement, mentorship, innovation, or advocacy
  • Exhibiting commitment to inspiring and generating passion in others


The Mallory Gilbert Leadership Award celebrates and recognizes outstanding administrative or managerial leadership within the Canadian Theatre Community. It was initiated in celebration of PACT’s 30th anniversary in 2006-2007 and was named in honour of Mallory Gilbert. Ms. Gilbert is one of Canada’s most respected arts managers and was Tarragon Theatre’s General Manager for 34 years as well as one of the founders and Past Presidents of PACT. In addition, she has served on numerous local and national boards of directors and advisory boards. Ms. Gilbert served on PACT’s Board for 20 years (as PACT President 1989-1993), and was the recipient of a PACT Honourary Life Membership in 2005. By mentoring countless aspiring arts administrators, she has shaped the careers of many of Canada’s theatre leaders and encouraged the creation of exciting new theatre ventures.

Past winners of the Mallory Gilbert Leadership Award

2018 – Gaylene Buckle and protégé Natasha Butt
2017 – Michele Decottignies and protégé Olivia Marie Golosky
2016 – Nancy Webster and protégé Katie Pounder
2015 – Ivan Havel and protégés Nadine Carew and Natalie Ackers
2014 – Yvette Nolan and protégé Kristen Holfeuer
2013 – David Abel and protégé Rebecca Singh
2012 – Chuck Childs and protégé Adèle Benoit
2011 – Philip Akin and protégé Mumbi Tindyebwa Otu
2010 – Naomi Campbell and protégé Donna-Michelle St. Bernard
2009 – Heather Redfern and protégé Kris Nelson
2008 – Cherry Karpyshin and protégé Madonna Van Vonderen
2007 – Jenny Munday and protégé Natasha MacLellan

Selection Process

The Mallory Gilbert Leadership Award Selection Panel is composed of a combination of PACT Honourary Life Members, respected leaders of Canada’s national theatre community and past recipients of the Mallory Gilbert Leadership Award.

The Selection Panel reviews all nominations and selects one winner, judging nominations against the eligibility requirements (see nomination form for full eligibility requirements). At its discretion, the Selection Panel may choose to grant no award or multiple awards in one year. All Selection Panel deliberations are strictly confidential.

Support for the Mallory Gilbert Leadership Award

We gratefully acknowledges previous support for the MGLA from Tarragon Theatre, who sponsored the award for the first five years, and the Metcalf Foundation, who has generously supported the award (2012-2015) both in recognition of Mallory Gilbert’s contribution to the sector and as part of their longstanding commitment to supporting the people who work in the professional performing arts sector.



Please consider supporting the Mallory Gilbert Award by visiting our donations page.

For more information, including how to nominate someone or eligibility criteria for the award and selection jury, contact Membership & Communications Manager, Mirette A. Shoeir.

Back To Top